#### **CORPORATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE**

A meeting of the Corporate Affairs Committee was held on 15 February 2008.

PRESENT: Councillor Clark (Chair), Councillors McPartland, Mrs H Pearson and

Rehman.

**OFFICIALS:** J Bennington, C Davies, S Harker, R G Long and R Painter.

\*\* PRESENT AS AN OBSERVER: Deputy Mayor (Councillor Kerr)

\*\* APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE were submitted on behalf of Councillors Elder, Jones and

Porley.

## \*\* DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made at this point of the meeting.

## \*\* MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of the Corporate Affairs Committee held on 30 January 2008 were taken as read and approved as a correct record.

# SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES - LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNORS - APPOINTMENTS

A report of the Head of Education Policy and Resources was presented regarding vacancies for Local Authority appointed School Governors which had arisen as a result of resignations, the expiry of terms of office or the removal of Governors due to non-attendance.

The nominations received for such vacancies were outlined in Appendix 1 of the report submitted and in an updated report circulated at the meeting.

It was noted that with the updated position there were currently 23 vacancies out of a total of 142 Governorships for LA representatives, which equated to 16.2%.

## ORDERED as follows: -

Cabaal

1. That the following appointments be approved for a four-year term of office with effect from 15.2.08:-

Covernor

| <u>Scnool</u>         | <u>Governor</u>    |
|-----------------------|--------------------|
| Abingdon Primary      | Councillor Khan    |
| Acklam Whin Primary   | Councillor Brunton |
| Berwick Hills Primary | Councillor Dryden  |
| Breckon Hill Primary  | Councillor Majid   |
| Easterside Primary    | Councillor Carr    |
| Green Lane Primary    | Councillor Dunne   |
| Lingfield Primary     | Councillor Hobson  |
| Marton Manor Primary  | Councillor Brunton |
| Newham Bridge Primary | Councillor Lowes   |

Newport Primary Mrs S Carter

Park End Primary Mrs L Howard

Pennyman Primary Mrs E Harris

Rosewood Primary Councillor Cole

Sacred Heart R C Primary Mrs S Carter

St Edward's R C Primary Mrs W Kelly

Holmwood Mr M Broomfield

Complimentary Management Board Councillor Mrs H Pearson

2. That consideration of the appointments due to expire in April 2008 in respect of the following be deferred to the meeting of the Committee to be held on 26 March 2008:-

Ayresome Primary School

Hemlington Primary School

Kader Primary School

Linthorpe Primary School

Pallister Park Primary School

3. That appointments to the following vacancies be deferred pending the receipt of nominations in respect of:

Chandlers Ridge Primary School

Rose Wood Primary School

The Avenue Primary School

King's Manor Secondary School

The Newlands FCJ School

Ormesby School

4. That Members be advised of the current vacancies.

## INDEPENDENT PANEL ON MEMBERS' REMUNERATION

The Members' Office Manager submitted a report, which sought confirmation of recent appointments to the Independent Panel on Members' Remuneration following the retirement from the Panel of Alexander Porter and John Wright.

Brian Foottit had been offered a further three year term of office and following interview, Paul Hopson (trade union representative) had also been offered a three year term of office.

Since the introduction of the banded scheme of allowances, and the linking of allowances to other indexes, the Panel tended to meet once or twice a year during February/March period in order to review whether previous recommendations should be amended or whether changes in circumstances required additional recommendations.

The Panel was due to meet in mid-March in order to undertake the 2008/2009 review of Members' Allowances. The Committee was advised that in respect of the one outstanding vacancy, there was insufficient time to recruit and appoint in time for this year's review. It was therefore recommended that the existing Panel of five members completes the 2008/2009 review and that recruitment should be undertaken in the autumn 2008 in preparation for the 2009 review of allowances.

The Committee was informed that Alexander Porter might now be able to resume his membership of the Independent Panel, and Officers were requested to make contact with him.

## ORDERED as follows: -

- 1. That the appointment of Brian Foottit and Paul Hopson to the Independent Panel on Members' Remuneration for a period of up to three years be confirmed.
- 2. That subject to his approval Alexander Porter be appointed to the Independent Panel on Members' Remuneration for a period of up to three years.
- 3. That in the event of Alexander Porter not being available for appointment recruitment to fill the outstanding place on the Independent Panel on Members' Remuneration be undertaken later in the year in preparation for the 2009 review of Members' Allowances.